Drama League Nominees Announced

Ken AshfordTheatre1 Comment

I'm actually a member of the Drama League (and I get to vote!), so I have to pay attention to the nominees, which were just announced by Kelsey Grammer and Bebe Neuworth.

Full list below the fold


by Jessica Blank and Erik Jensen (New York Theatre Workshop)

A Behanding on Spokane
by Martin McDonagh (Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre)

The Brother/Sister Plays
by Tarell Alvin McCraney (The Public Theater)

Clybourne Park
by Bruce Norris (Playwrights Horizons)

by Lucy Prebble (Broadhurst Theatre)

Next Fall
by Geoffrey Nauffts (Helen Hayes Theatre)

The Pride
by Alexi Kaye Campbell (MCC Theater)

by John Logan (John Golden Theatre)

Venus in Fur
by David Ives (Classic Stage Company)


The Addams Family
Book by Marshall Brickman and Rick Elice; Music and Lyrics by Andrew Lippa (Lunt-Fontanne Theatre)

American Idiot
Book by Billie Joe Armstrong and Michael Mayer; Lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong; Music by Green Day (St. James Theatre)

Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
Book by Alex Timbers; Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman (The Public Theater)

Brief Encounter
by Noel Coward; Adapted by Emma Rice/Kneehigh Theatre (St. Ann's Warehouse)

Come Fly Away
Conceived by Twyla Tharp; Music and Lyrics by Various Artists (Marquis Theatre)

Book and Lyrics by Joe DiPietro; Music and Lyrics by David Bryan (Shubert Theatre)

Million Dollar Quartet
Book by Colin Escott and Floyd Mutrux; Music and Lyrics by Various Artists (Nederlander Theatre)

The Scottsboro Boys
Book by David Thompson; Music and Lyrics by John Kander and Fred Ebb (Vineyard Theatre)

Sondheim on Sondheim
Conceived by James Lapine; Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim (Roundabout Theatre Company)

*The Broadway transfer of Fela! was nominated for the 2009 Distinguished Production of a Musical during its Off-Broadway run, and was therefore ineligible for nomination this season.


As You Like It
by William Shakespeare (Brooklyn Academy of Music)

Brighton Beach Memoirs
by Neil Simon (Nederlander Theatre)

Collected Stories
by Donald Margulies (Manhattan Theatre Club)

The Emperor Jones
by Eugene O'Neill (Irish Repertory Theatre)

by August Wilson (Cort Theatre)

Lend Me a Tenor
by Ken Ludwig (Music Box Theatre)

A Lie of the Mind
by Sam Shepard (The New Group)

A View From the Bridge
by Arthur Miller (Cort Theatre)


A Little Night Music
Book by Hugh Wheeler; Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim (Walter Kerr Theatre)

Finian's Rainbow
Book by Yip Harburg and Fred Saidy; Lyrics by Harburg; Music by Burton Lane (St. James Theatre)

La Cage aux Folles
Book by Harvey Fierstein; Music and Lyrics by Jerry Herman (Longacre Theatre)

Promises, Promises
Book by Neil Simon; Lyrics by Hal David; Music by Burt Bacharach (Broadway Theatre)

Book by Terrence McNally; Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens; Music by Stephen Flaherty (Neil Simon Theatre)

The Drama League pays tribute to the season's best performers by including the nominees of the Distinguished Performance Award on a dais. This season's dais includes the following performers, one of whom will be honored with the Distinguished Performance Award at the awards ceremony on May 21:


Nina Arianda, Venus In Fur

Laura Benanti, In the Next Room, or The Vibrator Play

Barbara Cook, Sondheim on Sondheim

Daniel Craig, A Steady Rain

Tyne Daly, Love, Loss and What I Wore

Hugh Dancy, The Pride

Viola Davis, Fences

Brandon Victor Dixon, The Scottsboro Boys

Colman Domingo, A Boy and his Soul

**Ensemble, Aftermath

**Ensemble, Brief Encounter

Katie Finneran, Promises, Promises

Carrie Fisher, Wishful Drinking

John Gallagher Jr., American Idiot

Victor Garber, Present Laughter

Montego Glover, Memphis

Mark-Paul Gosselaar, The Understudy

Kelsey Grammer, La Cage aux Folles

David Alan Grier, Race

Lance Guest, Million Dollar Quartet

Jonathan Hammond, The Boys in the Band

Valerie Harper, Looped

Sean Hayes, Promises, Promises

Jessica Hecht, A View From the Bridge

Jon Michael Hill, Superior Donuts

Douglas Hodge, La Cage aux Folles

Judith Ivey, The Glass Menagerie/The Lady With All the Answers

Scarlett Johansson, A View from the Bridge

Marc Damon Johnson, The Brother/Sister Plays

Leslie Jordan, My Trip Down The Pink Carpet

Levi Kreis, Million Dollar Quartet

Nathan Lane, The Addams Family

Angela Lansbury, A Little Night Music

Linda Lavin, Collected Stories

Jude Law, Hamlet

Laura Linney, Time Stands Still

Jan Maxwell, Lend Me A Tenor/The Royal Family

Marin Mazzie, Enron

Alfred Molina, Red

Jim Norton, Finian's Rainbow

Rosie O'Donnell, Love, Loss and What I Wore

Karine Plantadit, Come Fly Away

Eddie Redmayne, Red

Roslyn Ruff, Things of Dry Hours

Tony Shalhoub, Lend Me a Tenor

Jeremy Shamos, Clybourne Park

Anna Deavere Smith, Let Me Down Easy

Bobby Steggert, Ragtime/Yank!

John Douglas Thompson, The Emperor Jones

Michael Urie, The Temperamentals

Tony Vincent, American Idiot

Christopher Walken, A Behanding in Spokane

Benjamin Walker, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson

Denzel Washington, Fences

Ben Whishaw, The Pride

Vanessa Williams, Sondheim on Sondheim

Catherine Zeta-Jones, A Little Night Music

NOTE:  Since you can only win the Distinguished Performance Award once in a lifetime, certain people you might expect to me nominated (Norbert Leo Butz, Enron) were not eligible.